Faculty of Media of the HTWK Leipzig

The Faculty of Media was founded in 2006, merging the former Departments 'Book and Museum' and 'Polygraphic Technology'. The precursor of the Department 'Polygraphic Technology' had been the Section 'Polygraphy' of the Technical University Leipzig with its roots in the Master School for the Graphic Arts, established in 1929. 

All academic programmes, each with a different emphasis, introduce students to the production and distribution of print and electronic media, covering both traditional and new media. The curricula are focussed on providing students with the skills they need for solving practical tasks independently. Students regularly manage a textbook store, organize the University’s booth at the Leipzig Book Fair, produce TV shows and prepare industry-specific information events.

Undergraduate programmes:

  • Printing Technology — Bachelor of Engineering
  • Packaging Technology — Bachelor of Engineering
  • Publishing Technology — Bachelor of Engineering
  • Media Technology — Bachelor of Engineering
  • Booktrade and Publishing Management — Bachelor of Arts
  • Library and Information Science — Bachelor of Arts
  • Applied Museology (Museum Studies) — Bachelor of Arts

Postgraduate programmes:

  • Printing and Packaging Technology — Master of Engineering
  • Media Management — Master of Engineering
  • Publishing and Media Trade Management — Master of Arts
  • Library and Information Science — Master of Arts


For detailed information on the academic programmes, please refer to the Faculty website (in German)

Last update: 16 February 2016 Send e-mail to author